Current Men’s Studies

1 Kings

Discover God’s character and faithfulness as you learn to speak, act and persevere in wisdom.

Examine the Biblical events surrounding the rise and fall of Solomon as well as explore how true wisdom is intellectual, moral and how it gives insight into the character of God.

Start: February 8, 2021

Times: Mondays 7pm – 8:30pm

Location: SMC 210 & Zoom Online

Facilitator: Trent Brooks – tbrooks@dentonbible.org

Galatians

Gain encouragement to maintain your faith and stand firm against false teachings.

Are you living free or feel imprisoned? Even Christians sometimes find themselves bound by religious obligations. Writing to the church he had founded in Galatia, the apostle Paul passionately rails against rules and regulations threatening to restrict the Spirit-led freedom God offers. Rediscover the freedom of God’s extravagant grace and a faith animated by God’s mercy.

Start: February 2, 2021

Times: Tuesdays 7pm – 9pm

Location: SMC 211

Facilitator: Steve Johnson – sjohnson@dentonbible.org

Colossians & Philemon

Looking at the Person of Christ and how we live for Him on a daily basis.

The Apostle Paul writes to the believers in Colosse in response to two crises to share his wisdom.  First, he responds to false teachers were belittling Christ, laying down rules and boasting of secret knowledge.  Then, he appeals to an individual believer, challenging him to imitate Christ in showing mercy.  Christ’s letters exalt Christ and affirm a truly Christian life.  These are foundational for understanding Christ and His work in us.

Start: February 2, 2021

Times: Tuesdays 7pm – 8:30pm

Location: Zoom Online

Facilitator: Steve Pogue – spogue@dentonbible.org

A Life Well Lived: A Study of Ecclesiastes

A practical guide to navigate through today’s culture, tension and hopelessness.

In the desire and quest to make sense of the world and our existence, three great sirens have lured men and women into a lull with the empty promise to make their lives meaningful. The great king of Israel, Solomon, though the wisest man, was not immune to their song and at the end of his life, stopped to contemplate on all that competed for his attention. He wrote his conclusions in the Book of Ecclesiastes. In a world such as ours, where the search for meaning and purpose propels mankind to try everything under the sun, Solomon’s conclusions ring louder than ever for a people who need answers more than ever.

Start: March 16, 2021

Times: Tuesdays 7pm – 8:30pm

Location: Zoom Online

Facilitator: Calvin Clark – cclark@dentonbible.org

Redemption

How Christ redeems us from abuse and addictions to our created purpose.

Redemption is not a step-oriented recovery book; it’s story-oriented and Bible-anchored. It unfolds the back-story of redemption in Exodus to help Christians better understand how Christ redeems us from the slavery of abuse, addiction, and assorted troubles, but leads us to experience His presence, His healing, and His freedom as He restores us to our created purpose, the worship of God.

Start: March 17, 2021

Times: Wednesdays 7pm – 9pm

Location: 2224 Pembrooke Pl, Denton

Facilitator: Curt Erwin – cerwin@dentonbible.org

Dave Robinson – drobinson@dentonbible.org

Morning Bible Studies

These on-going Bible studies are verse-by-verse, expositional studies of various books.  All men are welcome to attend.

Start: On-going

Lakeland Baptist Church: Every Tuesday 7am (MAP)

Facilitators: Mike Scheer – mscheer@dentonbible.org ; Charles Stolfus – cstolfus@dentonbible.org

Denton Bible Church: Every Wednesday at 7am in the Student Ministries Center Auditorium.

Facilitator: Mike Spencer – mspencer@dentonbible.org

Crossroads

On-going group with the focus on overcoming addictions.

Addictions lure us. No matter the object, addictions extend the promise of pleasure and escape while only delivering emptiness, death and destruction. God’s word offers hope to overcome! (Various resources will be covered using Crossroads as a foundation.)

Start: On-going

Times: Every Saturday 7am – 9am

Location: Denton Bible Church, The Hangar Office

Facilitator: Derek Davis – ddavis@dentonbible.org

Men’s Bible Study

Bible studies are now open!  If you have any questions please feel free to contact me about getting involved in community.

You may call or e-mail the Men’s Ministry office at realmen@dentonbible.org

Glad to speak with you!

Gordon Nickell
Men’s Ministry Coordinator

Denton Bible Church
940-297-6818